#FEMALE PLEASURE accompanies five young brave women from the five world-religions as they stand up against the demonizing of female sexuality through increasing religious fanaticism and shows their conflict-laden search for fulfilled sexuality and the love that had been forbidden for them in this hypersexualized, secular world. A film about the right to sexual self-determination – for all women.

At the core of #FEMALE PLEASURE are five young women, who stand up against the way the female body and sexuality are treated with contempt by their respective religions and cultures and pay a high price for it. They are publically defamed and attacked, expelled by their communities as infidels and even receive death threats from religious leaders and fanatical believers.
The five activists break the taboo of silence and shame that their religious communities placed on sexuality and lust and advocate sex education and female self-determination with all their strength, for all women in their cultures and religions, across borders of society and religion.
The film allows an intimate perspective on what it means to be a woman in repressive, anti-body and anti-lust cultures and societies and also asks the question, how strong the woman’s sexual self-determination really is, in this hyper-sexualized secular world, where the five protagonists live today and where they fight for fulfilled sexuality and equal relationships.
#FEMALE PLEASURE is a film about shame, religious disgrace and the explosive force of female sexuality and about young brave women, who, despite all religious dogmas and dangers, take their fate into their own hands.

Trailer

KINO-TOUR

3. November 2018 Stuttgart Atelier am Bollwerk Programm Tickets
4. November 2018 Nürnberg Casablanca Programm Tickets
4. November 2018 München City Kino Programm Tickets
5. November 2018 Frankfurt Harmonie Kinos Programm Tickets
6. November 2018 Berlin Kino in der Kulturbrauerei Programm Tickets
6. November 2018 Mainz Palatin Programm Tickets
7. November 2018 Köln Odeon Programm Tickets
7. November 2018 Bonn Rex Kino Programm
8. November 2018 Düsseldorf Bambi Programm Tickets
8. November 2018 Essen Filmstudio Glückauf Programm
9. November 2018 Bielefeld Lichtwerk Programm Tickets
9. November 2018 Hannover Kino am Raschplatz Programm Tickets
10. November 2018 Bremen Cinema Ostertor Programm
10. November 2018 Hamburg Abaton Programm Tickets

#FEMALE PLEASURE
A documentary by Barbara Miller
Switzerland, Germany | 97 min. DCP


PRODUCTION COMPANIES
INDI FILM
MONS VENERIS FILMS

DISTRIBUTOR (GERMANY)
X-Verleih

DISTRIBUTOR (WORLD)
Cat&Docs

WORLD PREMIERE
Locarno Film Festival, 05th of august 2018

FESTIVALS & AWARDS
IDFA – International Documentary Filmfestival Amsterdam 2018
DOK Leipzig – 61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film 2018
DOK Leipzig – Special Prize of the Interreligious Jury

#FEMALE PLEASURE begleitet fünf junge mutige Frauen aus den fünf Weltreligionen bei ihrem risikoreichen Aufstand gegen die Dämonisierung der weiblichen Sexualität durch den zunehmenden religiösen Fanatismus. Und zeigt ihre konfliktreiche Suche nach erfüllter Sexualität und ihnen bisher verbotenen Liebe, in der hypersexualisierten säkularen Welt. Ein Film über das Recht auf sexuelle Selbstbestimmung – für alle Frauen.

Im Zentrum von #FEMALE PLEASURE stehen fünf junge Frauen, die sich gegen die Verachtung des weiblichen Körpers und der weiblichen Sexualität in ihren Religionen und Kulturen zur Wehr setzen. Und dafür einen hohen Preis bezahlen. Sie werden öffentlich diffamiert und attackiert, von ihrem ehemaligen Umfeld als Ungläubige verstoßen und von Religionsführern und fanatischen Gläubigen sogar mit dem Tod bedroht.
Die fünf Aktivistinnen brechen das Tabu des Schweigens und der Scham, das ihre religiösen Gemeinschaften über Sexualität und Lust legen, und setzen sich mit aller Kraft für sexuelle Aufklärung und weibliche Selbstbestimmung für alle Frauen in ihren Kulturen und Religionen ein. Über alle gesellschaftlichen und religiösen Schranken hinweg.
Der Film gewährt einen intimen Einblick, was es in repressiven, körper- und lustfeindlichen Kulturen und Gesellschaften bedeutet, eine Frau zu sein. Und geht dabei auch der Frage nach, wie stark die sexuelle Selbstbestimmung der Frauen in der hypersexualisierten säkularen Welt wirklich ist, in der die fünf Protagonistinnen heute leben und wo sie um eine erfüllte Sexualität und eine gleichberechtigte Partnerschaft kämpfen.
#FEMALE PLEASURE ist ein Film über Scham, religiöse Schande und die Sprengkraft weiblicher Sexualität. Und über junge, mutige Frauen, die allen religiösen Dogmen und Gefahren zum Trotz ihr Schicksal in die eigene Hand nehmen.

Trailer

KINO-TOUR

3. November 2018 Stuttgart Atelier am Bollwerk Programm Tickets
4. November 2018 Nürnberg Casablanca Programm Tickets
4. November 2018 München City Kino Programm Tickets
5. November 2018 Frankfurt Harmonie Kinos Programm Tickets
6. November 2018 Berlin Kino in der Kulturbrauerei Programm Tickets
6. November 2018 Mainz Palatin Programm Tickets
7. November 2018 Köln Odeon Programm Tickets
7. November 2018 Bonn Rex Kino Programm
8. November 2018 Düsseldorf Bambi Programm Tickets
8. November 2018 Essen Filmstudio Glückauf Programm
9. November 2018 Bielefeld Lichtwerk Programm Tickets
9. November 2018 Hannover Kino am Raschplatz Programm Tickets
10. November 2018 Bremen Cinema Ostertor Programm
10. November 2018 Hamburg Abaton Programm Tickets

#FEMALE PLEASURE
Ein Dokumentarfilm von Barbara Miller
Schweiz, Deutschland 2018, 97 min, DCP

PRODUKTION
INDI FILM
MONS VENERIS FILMS

VERLEIH -DEUTSCHLAND
X-Verleih

WELTVERTRIEB
Cat&Docs

WELTPREMIERE
Filmfest Locarno, 05. August 2018

FESTIVALS UND PREISE
IDFA – International Documentary Filmfestival Amsterdam 2018
DOK Leipzig – 61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm 2018
DOK Leipzig – Spezialpreis der Interreligiösen Jury