• golzow-slide

The east-German town of Golzow is running out of children. To save his village from disappearing, mayor Frank Schütz has an idea: Syrian refugee-families are to move to Golzow and provide the village with the new blood they so badly require. Can this end well?

Once the eastern german village Golzow was famous for Winfried Junge’s longterm-filmproject “die Kinder von Golzow”. But the fame faded with time: Today there are 857 inhabitants, a small bakery, a takeaway, a primary school with too little children and a movie museum with too little visitors. Only the many memories remind people of better times.
“Refugees are an opportunity”, mayor Frank Schütz states – and that is why two syrian families have now found their shelter in Golzow. Therefore the school has got enough students and a wind of change blows through the village. Schütz dreams of a growing fire department, a sports- as well as a danceclub.
Family Sayed Ahmad for their part is attempting their new beginning. Halima and Fahdi try to adapt – being friendly throughout and studying German with perseverance. Their children do take part in the voluntary fire department and the family even settles with their own garden plot. But every time Halima thinks of her homeland she gets sad… and not everyone in Golzow is fine with the german refugee policy.
“Die neuen Kinder von Golzow” tells the story of the village and its experiment while drawing a sensitive portrait of the family Sayed Ahmad.

Die neuen Kinder von Golzow Website

THE NEW CHILDREN OF GOLZOW
Documentary by Simone Gaul
Germany 2017, 90 min, HD

PRODUCTION COMPANIES
INDI FILM, SWR and MDR

FINANCIAL SUPPORT
MFG regional fund Baden-Württemberg,
German Federal Film Board FFA, Bread for the World

FESTIVALS & AWARDS
DOK Leipzig 2017 International Programme

• golzow-slide

Dem ostdeutschen Dorf Golzow gehen die Kinder aus. Um sein Dorf vor dem Verschwinden zu retten, hat Bürgermeister Frank Schütz eine Idee: Syrische Flüchtlingsfamilien mit ihren Kindern sollen nach Golzow ziehen und dem Dorf den dringend benötigten Nachwuchs bringen. Kann das gut gehen?

Golzow war einst für Winfried Junges Langzeitdokumentarfilmprojekt „die Kinder von Golzow“ berühmt. Doch heute ist nicht mehr viel los in Golzow. Geblieben sind 857 Einwohner, ein Bäcker, ein Imbiss, eine Grundschule mit zu wenig Kindern, ein Filmmuseum mit zu wenig Besuchern – und viele Erinnerungen an bessere Zeiten.
„Flüchtlinge sind eine Chance für uns“, sagt Bürgermeister Schütz. Und so leben seit kurzem zwei syrische Familien im Dorf, Frank Schütz will weitere holen und träumt von Nachwuchs für Feuerwehr, Sportverein und Tanzclub, von syrischen Altenpflegern und einem arabischen Dorf-Restaurant. Doch als der Landrat eine temporäre Massenunterkunft für allein stehende Männer in Golzow plant, formt sich Widerstand im Dorf.
Familie Sayed Ahmad probiert den Neuanfang in Golzow. Halima und Fadi versuchen, sich dem Dorfleben anzupassen, sind stets zu allen freundlich, ihre Kinder gehen in die freiwillige Feuerwehr und die Familie hat einen kleinen Schrebergarten. Aber immer wenn Halima an Syrien denkt, wird sie traurig.

„Die neuen Kinder von Golzow“ erzählt die Geschichte des Golzower Integrationsexperiments und zeichnet gleichzeitig ein sensibles Portrait der Familie Sayed Ahmad.

DIE NEUEN KINDER VON GOLZOW
Dokumentarfilm von Simone Gaul

VORAUSSICHTLICHE FERTIGSTELLUNG
2017

PRODUKTION
INDI FILM